Mt. Zion in the mid to late 1950’s

Since October of 1852 our congregation has been assembling together in worship and fellowship.  Originally named the church of Christ at Swan Creek, the congregation has been vibrant and proficient in fulfilling the great commission in the community and throughout the world.

We are honored and take great pride in our rich history.  However, the future is our focus.  Culture is changing.   The way people interact is different.  Constantly we consider how the church can make a greater impact on the world.  It’s our mission to reach out to people and let them know about the Savior we love.  We want to be more effective in serving God.  To guide us in our vision, we have to obey God’s word and evaluate our past.  We must look at where have we succeeded as the church and where have we failed.

All glory goes to God for allowing Mt. Zion to exist for 160 years.  We call on him and ask Him to guide us and direct us as we continue as the church.

Our congregation has been assembling together and worshipping God since October of 1852!  It is our hope that through the years we have brought glory to God and shined our lights in this world of darkness.

The history of our congregation has been fairly well documented.  The original record book of the Mt. Zion Church is now in the safe keeping of the Kentucky Library Manuscript Department on the campus of Western Kentucky University.

Listed below are a wide array of documents concerning our history:

A History of Mt. Zion Church

Local Events from the 1800’s

The Civil War and Swan Creek church

Tribute to elder Marion Eadens following tragic accident

Leroy Miller – The Boy Evangelist

Miss Fannie Leads Mt. Zion Worship

Lassie Moats – Mt. Zion’s Poet

Brown’s Mill at Greencastle

William Brown – Donated Current Land

Greencastle Community Memories

Former Editor’s Widow is Related to Builder of Dam

Loss of a Steamer

Text of Original Mt. Zion church Deed

Members as of 1852

Members as of 1883

Members as of 1899

Members as of 1922

Mt. Zion notes 1922

Old Greencastle School House

Mt. Zion building – 8th oldest existing structure as of 2008

1996 church directory

2006 church directory

BG Daily News front page article – April 13, 2009